Overview of the Organization of Scientific Area Committees

Academic Article


  • The National Institute of Standards and Technologies (NIST) has transformed the majority of the Scientific Working Groups (SWGs) into the Organization of Scientific Area Committees (OSAC). The OSAC has been created to foster the development of standards and guidelines for the practice of documenting evidence by methods that are technically sound and accepted by the consensus of forensic practitioners. The OSAC is composed of 33 committees arranged in a hierarchy. Potential standards begin in a Subcommittee and must work their way through approval by the Subcommittee, the Subcommittee's parent Scientific Area Committee (SAC), and finally the Forensic Science Standards Board (FSSB) before being adopted into the FSSB Registry of Approved Standards. NIST hopes to find existing standards with technical merit that were developed through a standards development process for adoption as national standards of practice. The OSAC provides forensic scientists the unprecedented opportunity of validating their own scientific practices within the framework of sound scientific practice.
  • Authors

    Published In

    Digital Object Identifier (doi)

    Author List

  • Davis GG; Baker AM
  • Start Page

  • 474
  • End Page

  • 479
  • Volume

  • 4
  • Issue

  • 4