AIAMC Innovation Award


  • The Alliance of Independent Academic Medical Centers (AIAMC) : Innovation Award is presented on an annual basis to the institutional members who best exemplify creative and innovative approaches to medical education and research that result in better patient outcomes. Awarded for Christiana Care Health System’s (CCHS) innovative graduate-level, 12-week course, Achieving Competency Today (ACT): Issues in Health Care Quality, Cost, Systems, and Safety. This curriculum focuses on inter-professional learning through collaboration on quality improvement projects, with the aim of producing measurable improvements in quality and patient safety by integrating course-developed projects into the daily life of the organization. Course Director: Lee Ann Riesenberg, PhD, RN. At the time of the award, 179 (80 residents, 64 nurses, 10 pharmacists, 4 physicians, 3 chaplains, and 18 allied health professionals) had completed the course and the course teams had developed 29 rapid-cycle tests with detailed project plans handed off to project champions.
  • Receipt Of

    Award Or Honor For

  • Lee Ann Riesenberg  Professor