An introduction to the multistage cube family of interconnection networks

Academic Article


  • The interconnection network in large-scale parallel/distributed supercomputer systems is a crucial component. Three networks are overviewed here. Multistage cube networks represent an important family of networks, which includes the omega, n-cube, multistage shuffle-exchange, delta, baseline, SW-banyan, and Generalized Cube. This family has been used or proposed for use in such systems as staran, pasm, Ultracomputer, the BBN Butterfly, the IBM RP3, and data-flow machines. The multistage cube topology, distributed routing control, and ability to be partitioned into independent subnetworks are examined. The Extra Stage Cube (ESC), a single-fault-tolerant multistage cube network, is described. The structure, control, and partitionability of the ESC, and how it functions when multiple faults occur, are presented. The Dynamic Redundancy (DR) network, a fault-tolerant multistage cube network that supports the incorporation of spare processors for fault tolerance, is discussed. Its structure, control, and partitionability into single-fault-tolerant subnetworks are explained. © 1987 Kluwer Academic Publishers.
  • Published In

    Digital Object Identifier (doi)

    Author List

  • Siegel HJ; Tsun-Yuk Hsu W; Jeng M
  • Start Page

  • 13
  • End Page

  • 42
  • Volume

  • 1
  • Issue

  • 1