Gene Therapy Center



Faculty Center Appointments

  • image

    Bellis Ph.D., Susan, Scientist (C) 2007 -

  • image

    Bland M.D., Kirby, Senior Scientist (C) 2001 -

    Kirby I Bland, M.D. is a Professor of Surgical Oncology and Chair Emeritus of UAB's Department of Surgery and provides leadership to the Comprehensive Cancer Center. Dr. Bland is internationally renowned for his contributions to surgical oncology and for his distinguished career as a general surgeon, researcher and editor.

    Dr. Bland's research influence is far reaching. He has been a Principal Investigator/Program Leader of the Cancer Center's National Institute of Health's SPORE (Speci...

  • image

    Carroll M.D., William, Senior Scientist (C) 1997 -

    William R. Carroll, M.D., the George W. Barber Jr. Endowed Professor and widely-recognized leader in the field of head and neck oncology, has been named the chair of the Department of Otolaryngology in the UAB School of Medicine.

    Carroll has served the department as its interim chair since the Department was established by the UA System Board of Trustees in October 2015. He took the role in a permanent basis on February 15, 2017.

    The Department of Otolaryngology at UAB is a w...

  • image

    Elmets M.D., Craig, Senior Scientist (C) 2007 -

    Dr. Elmets major research interests focus on environmental influences on the skin and on the immune system. His research has investigated how ultraviolet light and other environmental agents interact with immunological function of the skin. Initial studies in mice showed that in vivo exposure of murine skin produced a local deficiency in the antigen presenting function of skin, thereby resulting in the preferential generation of antigen specific regulatory T-cells. Studies examining the mechanis...

  • image

    Everts Ph.D., Maaike, Associate Scientist (C) 2005 -

    In the capacity of Associate Director with the Alabama Drug Discovery Alliance – a collaboration between UAB and Southern Research - I interface with a wide range of scientists involved in the drug discovery and development process, focusing on infectious diseases, oncology and neurodegenerative disorders, among others. We have currently about 15 programs in our pipeline, ranging from assay development to phase I clinical trials. I am trained in the pharmaceutical sciences and have a broad range...

  • image

    Goepfert M.D., Paul, Scientist (C) 2003 -

    Our laboratory concentrates on understanding the immune correlates of protection against HIV disease progression with a focus on cell medicated immune responses (CD4 and CD8 T cells). We are utilizing a variety of techniques in our laboratory to evaluate the quality of HIV-specific T cell responses observed in patients who represent the entire spectra of HIV disease. These assays include an in vitro HIV killing and an in vitro HIV viral suppression assay. These assays measure the actual clearanc...

  • placeholder image

    Klug Ph.D., Christopher, Associate Scientist (C) 2000 -

  • placeholder image

    Matalon, Sadis, Senior Scientist (C) 2013 -

  • placeholder image

    Peters M.D., Glenn, Senior Scientist (C) 2001 -

  • image

    Siegal M.D., Ph.D., Gene, Senior Scientist (C) 2001 -

    Dr. Siegal was born in New York where he attended college. He received his medical degree from the University of Louisville and his PhD from the University of Minnesota. He was a Resident and Research Fellow at the Mayo Graduate School of Medicine and completed both a post-doctoral fellowship at the National Cancer Institute, NIH and a surgical pathology fellowship at the University of Minnesota. Prior to coming to UAB in 1990, he was a tenured faculty member at the University of North Carolina ...

  • image

    Whitley M.D., Richard, Senior Scientist (C) 2001 -

    Richard Whitley, M.D., is a Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics, Professor of Microbiology, Medicine and Neurosurgery; Loeb Eminent Scholar Chair in Pediatrics; Co-Director, Division of Pediatric Infectious Diseases; Vice-Chair, Department of Pediatrics; Senior Scientist, Department of Gene Therapy; Scientist, Cancer Research and Training Center; Faculty, Gene Therapy Center; Associate Director for Drug Discovery and Development and Senior Leader, Pediatric Oncology Program, O’Neal Comprehensi...

  • Faculty Secondary Appointments

  • image

    Mountz M.D., Ph.D., John, Professor (S) 2000 -

    Dr. Mountz is a Professor of Medicine and Director of the UAB Recombinant Inbred Strain Facility. Dr. Mountz is the Co-Director of the UAB Bone Center, the UAB Center for Aging, Basic Biology Component, and is a Physician at the Birmingham Veterans Administration Medical Center. Dr. Mountz is the recipient of the J. W. & Virginia Goodwin-Warren D. Blackburn, Jr. Research Chair in Rheumatology (2002) and recipient of the Max Cooper Award for Excellence in Research (2003). Dr. Mountz was designate...